Best Black Oxford Apple Tree Options for Home Gardeners
If you specifically want a Black Oxford apple tree, none of the supplied listings identifies its tree as Black Oxford. The two live-tree options are labeled Arkansas Black, a different named apple variety, while the seed listing does not identify its apple cultivar. Choose a live Arkansas Black tree only if that variety suits your plans; choose seeds if you are comfortable with cultivar and fruit characteristics being unspecified.
| Option | Best For | What the Listing Identifies |
|---|---|---|
| Brighter Blooms Arkansas Black | Gardeners seeking a larger shipped tree | Arkansas Black; 6–7 feet |
| Arkansas Black, 3–4 ft. | Buyers who want a smaller live tree | Arkansas Black; 7-gallon nursery pot |
| Six apple tree seeds | Growers willing to start from seed | Apple seeds; cultivar unspecified |
Brighter Blooms Arkansas Black Apple Tree

Best for: Gardeners who want a comparatively large live tree rather than seeds. The listing gives a height of 6–7 feet and identifies the variety as Arkansas Black, with dark red-purple apples described as crisp and having a tart-sweet flavor. It also presents the fruit as a choice for baking.
This option was selected because it is a live apple tree and provides both a named variety and a stated tree size. However, it is not listed as Black Oxford. Choose it if Arkansas Black is acceptable; avoid it if you require the Black Oxford cultivar specifically. The listing does not provide growing-zone or pollination details, so confirm those before ordering.
Arkansas Black Apple Tree, 3–4 Feet

Best for: Buyers who prefer a smaller live tree with a stated container size. The listing describes a 3–4-foot Arkansas Black tree in a 7-gallon nursery pot, with dark burgundy fruit and a crisp, tart taste. It lists USDA growing zones 4–8 and a mature height of 12–15 feet.
This is a useful comparison with the taller Brighter Blooms tree because its listing specifies both a growing-zone range and mature height. It is still Arkansas Black, not Black Oxford. The seller states that it cannot ship to California, Arizona, Alaska, or Hawaii; orders for those destinations will be canceled. Check the shipping restriction before ordering.
Six Black Apple Tree Seeds

Best for: Gardeners who want to experiment with starting apple trees from seed and do not need a confirmed Black Oxford variety. The package includes six seeds. The listing says the resulting trees can reach up to 72 inches and describes spring blooms followed by fruit production. It recommends USDA zones 6–10, full sun to partial shade, well-draining soil, and moderate watering.
This listing is included because it offers apple-tree seeds, but it does not name Black Oxford or another specific cultivar. Seed-grown trees should not be treated as a guaranteed way to reproduce a named variety based on the information provided. Choose this only if the unspecified cultivar is acceptable and you are prepared to grow from seed.
Buying Guide: How to Choose an Apple Tree
Does the listing name Black Oxford?
Check the exact cultivar name before buying. The live trees listed here are labeled Arkansas Black, and the seed packet does not specify a cultivar. Similar-looking names are not a reliable basis for treating one apple variety as another. If Black Oxford is essential, look for a listing that explicitly names Black Oxford and verify the plant label with the seller.
Should you buy a live tree or seeds?
A live tree is the more direct choice if you want a named variety and a plant that has already started growing. Compare listed height and container details, while remembering that shipping size does not indicate the tree’s eventual size. Seeds suit patient growers who accept uncertainty about the resulting cultivar. The seed listing’s stated height and growing conditions are not a guarantee of mature fruit characteristics.
Which growing details should you confirm?
Match the stated growing-zone range to your location where one is provided. Of these options, only the 3–4-foot Arkansas Black listing supplies a USDA zone range, 4–8; the seed listing gives zones 6–10. The Brighter Blooms listing does not state zones in the supplied details. Also confirm shipping eligibility, especially for the 3–4-foot tree, which excludes several states.
What else should you ask before ordering?
For any apple tree, check the seller’s current information about cultivar identity, delivery condition, planting instructions, and pollination needs. Those details are not provided consistently in these listings, so do not assume them. If you need fruit with a specific name or characteristics, prioritize a clearly labeled live tree over unspecified seeds.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are any of these listings for a Black Oxford apple tree?
No. The two live trees are identified as Arkansas Black, and the seed listing does not name its cultivar.
Is Arkansas Black the same listing as Black Oxford?
No listing here identifies Arkansas Black as Black Oxford. Treat them as separate named varieties unless a seller confirms otherwise.
Which option gives a stated growing zone?
The 3–4-foot Arkansas Black tree lists zones 4–8. The seed listing gives zones 6–10. The Brighter Blooms tree listing does not provide a zone range in the supplied details.
Can the 3–4-foot Arkansas Black tree ship to every U.S. state?
No. Its listing says it cannot ship to California, Arizona, Alaska, or Hawaii and that orders for those destinations will be canceled.
Do the six seeds guarantee Black Oxford apples?
No. The seed listing does not identify the cultivar, so it does not establish that the seeds will produce Black Oxford apples.